The Journey

A Diary of my Pursuit of Life\’s Best

10 Most Annoying …

It’s a cold and dreary Monday morning which does not work for my lazy self … except for the fact that I’ve been itching to post on the above topic since Friday!!!

Life is the most fulfilling experience I've had yet … and I am very well enjoying the ride. However, I know you concur with me that there is a downside to every good thing … so here goes my list of the 10 Most Annoying Habits I have encountered on my journey. In my last post, I noted that I am not a stickler for order … that hasn't changed, but on this occasion I am off on a tangent.

i.     Watering Plants
This is probably the biggest eyesore for Kenyan women. Why would an adult male ni his right mind pass at least 5 buildings with bathroom facilities and then decide (on the spur of the moment) that he has to go and can't wait? Can the City Council please erect fences that will give such men a little electric shodk to remind them that they have muscles they can use to everyone's advantage?!!

ii.    Gold Digging
Letting one's fingers do the walking in one's nose is a bad habit that must go!!!! It is not only unsightly, but also extremely uncouth and therefore unwelcome in any social gathering. If you must, then indulge yourself but refrain from extending your hand as a means of greeting thereafter.

Also classified under this category is the equally disgusting throat clearing. Kindly do not call the phlegmy contents of your throat within earshot. If you proceed to spit the same onto the ground, you should be sent on the next plane to Pluto!! Have you ever thought of the unfortunate lady in sandals who might by a stroke of really bad luck have you to blame for her discomfort?

iii.    Slurping
Anyone affiliated to the slopes of Mount Kenya would call this kumorotia. We can see that you are drinking a hot liquid. We do not need to hear it also.

iv.    Chomping
Numbers iii and iv, unfortunately, are not confined to any particular group of people. You will observe such habits even in very well-educated and dressed individuals.

My tip:     If you must contribute to conversation, think about doing so before you put the next very big spoonful in your mouth. We would rather not be party to how your digestive system works in the early stages.

v.     Burping
If you are content with your meal/drink, kindly say so. Burping is not a polite means of communication.

vi.    Body Checks
I am in the dating phase and concur that a brush against the body is one of the most subtle and appreciated hints of interest. However, if I do not know you/you pull such a stunt in a crowded place like River Road, I will not take it kindly.

vii.   Littering
As a Kenyan, I know that loving to hate the government of the day is the in dhing! But whose fault is it when the City Council, famed for its inability to do a good job, is unable to make a good job of your bad habits?

viii.  Touching
No matter how much I love your company, I will not condone any assumption that my outstanding features (read bosom/behind) are there for your indulgence. Be polite … look. If you can't help yourself, kindly ask for assistance.

ix.    Flirting
I'm not weird – like every other girl, I like good lyrics. However, bringing your face as close to mine as you possibly can won't count for flirting … especially if your breath has the capacity to make me cringe … eeeeuwww!

x.     Insincerity
It's alright if you do not like me … it's not alright if you pretend to.

I have left the heading incomplete because new as I may be in this game, my introductory post was as a result of a tag and I am a keen supporter of the wise saying, one good turn deserves another.

Now I tag …

Shiroh
Nick
Poi

Title may be amended to the owner's convenience..

April 10, 2006 Posted by | Uncategorized | 12 Comments