The Journey

A Diary of my Pursuit of Life\’s Best

Unnecessary Pulse

That which is striking and beautiful is not always good, but that which is good is always beautiful. 
Ninon de L'Enclos
The Editor,
Pulse Magazine.

Dear Ciku,

When I was younger, I learnt that it was very important not to laugh at anyone for what they had not, for anything we had was a gift from God. That todate has been a lesson I have struggled to adhere to, because I have learnt that there is wisdom in understanding this extremely simple concept.

As I became an adolescent, however, it became increasingly difficult to adhere to this lesson consistently. Why? Because at that age, it was more important to be beautiful, rich or classy than it was to be fair and look for good in others.

I'm a bit more grown up now, and I have realised that a lot of these things are only skin deep, and as such, they are often bedfellows with folly. That is why I am greatly appalled by pictures posted in last Friday's edition of The Standard's Pulse Magazine.

Why are the zits on Alicia Keys' face more important than the cause she had come to champion in Kenya? What right does this magazine have to condemn how Debbie brings up her daughter? How many times will the Pulse put celebrities down before people speak out? How many times do we have to watch sleaze taking priority over the preservation of Human Dignity?

I think you went too far this time. Your pictorial was unnecessarily unfair.

April 18, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Numero Uno..

    Off to read, ope u r well babes!

    Have a lovely week ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Poi | April 18, 2006 | Reply

  2. Cute house u gat here..

    Comment by Nakeel | April 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. I have not been able to read that article to enable me comment well. I do however get the dark side of it

    Comment by Shiroh | April 19, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hhehhe wewe Shiroh and KD find that article and let us read it how dare she yaani?

    Comment by Poi | April 19, 2006 | Reply

  5. Hhehhe wewe Shiroh and KD find that article and let us read it how dare she yaani?

    Wherever it is I went after been numero uno me knows not, aibu!
    I have been unable to locate the article on the information superhighway, but Shiroh must have read the article. I'm watching this space for her comments. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Sidebar
    I still haven't forgotten that I tagged a certain lady to do a list of 10 Most Annoying ninis. Hope you're making progress. ๐Ÿ˜€ 

    Comment by Poi | April 19, 2006 | Reply

  6. hi, hi, hi! Beautiful site.

    Comment by Petro | July 9, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

